Go Tell It On The Mountain CD [Re-release with Bonus Tracks]

2016 - Omnivore Recordings (re-release). Originally released in 2003.

Availability: Out of stock




The Blind Boys Of Alabama’s Grammy-winning Christmas album is now even more special!

It’s hard to believe that in their multi-decade history, The Blind Boys Of Alabama hadn’t issued a Christmas album until 2003—but, when it arrived, it was greater than anyone would have imagined. Go Tell It On The Mountain featured The Blind Boys’ signature vocals, matched with a bevy of special guests including Solomon Burke, Tom Waits, Chrissie Hynde, Mavis Staples, George Clinton, Les McCann, and many more.

The mix of hymns and traditional holiday favorites was greeted with adoration, and garnered the group its third Grammy Award in as many years, and as many releases. (They won in 2001 for Spirit Of The Century, and Higher Ground in 2002.)

While the release was expanded in 2004 to include an extra track, this version of Go Tell It On The Mountain goes two better, with live tracks recorded at the Beacon Theatre in New York. Also included is an insightful new essay from Davin Seay—co-author of memoirs from Al Green, Dion, and Snoop Dogg.

Just as a new generation of listeners was introduced to The Blind Boys Of Alabama at the turn of the century, it’s time for their classic Christmas album to continue the tradition today.

Track Listing

  1. Last Month of The Year
  2. I Pray On Christmas (featuring Solomon Burke)
  3. Go Tell It On The Mountain (featuring Tom Waits)
  4. Little Drummer Boy  (featuring Michael Franti)
  5. In The Bleak Midwinter (featuring Chrissie Hynde and Richard Thompson)
  6. Joy To The World (featuring Aaron Neville)
  7. Born In Bethlehem (featuring Mavis Staples)
  8. The Christmas Song (featuring Shelby Lynne)
  9. Away In A Manager (featuring George Clinton & Robert Randolph)
  10. Oh Come All Ye Faithful
  11. White Christmas
  12. Silent Night
  13. My Lord, What A Morning (bonus track - A Capella)
  14. Go Tell It On The Mountain (bonus track - Live in New York)
  15. Amazing Grace (bonus track - Live in New York)