Closer to You CD

Release Date: April 26, 2019 Because Music.

Because Music present a reissue of JJ Cale's Closer To You, originally released in 1994. The album was published under the independent French label Delabel and distributed by Virgin Records.

Personnel: JJ Cale - vocals, guitar, synthesizer
James Cruce - drums
Tim Drummond - bass
Jim Karstein - drums, percussion
Christine Lakeland - guitar, vocals
Bill Payne - keyboards
Don Preston - guitar.

"On the two albums that preceded Closer To You, - Travel-Log (1989) and Number 10 (1992) - JJ Cale adopted a more basic musical approach. This album continues the trend. Cale plays a few songs alone (though the overdubbed parts sound remarkably spare), including the title track. Closer To You finds him electronically treating his vocals, a technique that surprisingly makes him sound as down-to-earth as ever." --All Music

Availability: In stock


Track Listing

  1. Long Way Home
  2. Show-Biz Blues
  3. Slower Baby
  4. Devil's Nurse
  5. Like You Used To
  6. Borrowed Time
  7. Rose In The Garden
  8. Brown Dirt
  9. Hard Love
  10. Ain't Love Funny
  11. Closer To You
  12. Steve's Song