I'll Take You There: An All-Star Concert Celebration CD

(2017) This historic, all-star concert features over twenty performances spanning many genres by artists including Gregg Allman, Win Butler & Regine Chassagne of Arcade Fire, Eric Church, Emmylou Harris, Bonnie Raitt, Jeff Tweedy and many more. Filmed at Chicago's historic Auditorium Theatre, this performance was a once in a lifetime event, bringing some of the biggest names in music together to honor the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer and American icon. Throughout an unparalleled career that spans over six decades, Staples soulful songs of justice and equality have become a soundtrack for the Civil Rights Movement, and inspired multiple generations of artists. The collection features music from across Mavis' legendary career from the earliest Staples Singers songs through massive hits from their Stax heyday to her recent career resurgence with producers like Jeff Tweedy and Ry Cooder. Includes hits like 'Respect Yourself' and 'I'll Take You There' and transcendent covers like The Talking Heads' 'Slippery People' and Curtis Mayfield's 'People Get Ready.'

Availability: Out of stock


Track Listing

   1. Buddy Miller - Woke Up This Morning (with My Mind On Jesus)
   2. Patty Griffin - Waiting For My Child To Come Home
   3. Emmylou Harris - Far Celestial Shore
   4. Michael McDonald - Freedom Highway
   5. Glen Hansard - People Get Ready
   6. Mavis & Aaron Neville - Respect Yourself  
   7. Eric Church - Eyes On The Prize
   8. Taj Mahal - Wade In The Water
   9. Gregg Allman - Have A Little Faith
  10. Mavis & Bonnie Raitt - Turn Me Around
  11. Gregg Allman, Taj Mahal, Aaron Neville, Bonnie Raitt, & Mavis Staples - Will The Circle Be Unbroken
  12. Mavis, Win Butler & Régine Chassagne - Slippery People
  13. Mavis & Jeff Tweedy - You Are Not Alone
  14. Mavis Staples - I’ll Take You There
  15. Mavis & everybody: The Weight