Mavis Staples & Levon Helm - Carry Me Home 2LP

Release Date: August 5th, 2022 ANTI Records

The family’s back together on Mavis Staples & Levon Helm’s ‘Carry Me Home’ — out May 20th on @antirecords. This Midnight Ramble captures Mavis and her band with Levon and his band, together again 35 years after The Band’s final performance The Last Waltz.

Captured live in the summer of 2011, Carry Me Home showcases two of the past century’s most iconic voices coming together in love and joy, tracing their shared roots and celebrating the enduring power of faith and music. The setlist was righteous that night, mixing vintage gospel and soul with timeless folk and blues, and the performances were loose and playful, fueled by an ecstatic atmosphere that was equal parts family reunion and tent revival. Read between the lines, though, and there’s an even more poignant story at play here. Neither Staples nor Helm knew that this would be their last performance together—the collection marks one of Helm’s final recordings before his death—and listening back now, a little more than a decade later, tunes like “This May Be The Last Time” and “Farther Along” take on new, bittersweet meaning. The result is an album that’s at once a time capsule and a memorial, a blissful homecoming and a fond farewell, a once-in-a-lifetime concert—and friendship—preserved for the ages.

Availability: In stock


Track Listing

Side A 

  1. This Is My Country - 4:34
  2. Trouble In My Mind - 5:05
  3. Farther Along - 4:22

Side B

  1. Hand Writing On The Wall - 4:05
  2. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free - 3:42
  3. Move Along Train - 3:27

Side C

  1. This May Be The Last Time - 4:38
  2. When I Go Away - 5:16
  3. Wide River To Cross - 5:08

Side D

  1. You Got To Move - 2:41
  2. You Got To Serve Somebody - 5:36
  3. The Weight - 5:55