Michael Nau and The Mighty Thread LP

Relase Date: August 3rd 2018

Michael Nau & The Mighty Thread is the follow up to 2016’s Mowing — the first record he released under his own name, after fronting psych folk projects Page France and Cotton Jones — June 2017’s Some Twist, and its extension, The Load EP. The sprawling new album was recorded in Benny Yurco’s one-bedroom apartment in downtown Burlington, Vermont. Nau and his collaborators had a cool little set up going in Yurco’s spot — drums and bass took over the bedroom, the guitar amp in the bathroom, Nau’s vocals and piano in the living room, and a vibraphone in the kitchen. It’s the first time one of Nau’s records happened all in one place, and it feels most like a band record than ever before, he says; Nau and this particular group of musicians held it down together as a true team, which is why Nau named the record in their honor. Nothing more was added to it than what was recorded by Nau and the band in Yurco’s apartment. It didn’t feel like the right thing to do to mess with it post-facto, he adds. “It’s a documented live performance. It happened the way it happened, and that’s how it is.”

Availability: Out of stock


Track Listing

  1. Less Than Positive
  2. Shadow On
  3. When
  4. What's A Loon
  5. Far The Far
  6. No Faraway Star
  7. Funny In Real Life
  8. On Ice
  9. Funny Wind
  10. Can't Take One
  11. Smudge