Travels 2CD

1983 ECM

This two-CD set was recorded live during several 1982 concerts, covering music that grew out of the studio recordings As Falls Wichita, So Falls Wichita Falls and Offramp. At this stage, the Pat Metheny Group was a quintet with longtime partners Lyle Mays on piano, organ, and synthesizers; Dan Gottlieb on drums; Steve Rodby on bass; and Nana Vasconcelos, contributing a distinctive Brazilian element, on percussion and voice. Touring constantly, the group successfully balanced their increasingly electronic sound and spontaneity with Vasconcelos's rhythmic ingenuity, which clearly acted as stimulus to Metheny's consistently inventive guitar work. It's a fitting commemoration of the tremendous success that the Metheny Group had begun to enjoy, both a travelogue of their concert venues and an in-depth look at their diverse material. --Stuart Broomer

Availability: Out of stock


Track Listing

Disc One
  1. Are You Going With Me?
  2. The Fields, The Sky
  3. Goodbye
  4. Phase Dance
  5. Straight On Red
  6. Farmer's Trust
Disc Two
  1. Extradition
  2. Goin'  Ahead/ As Falls Witchita, So Falls Witchita Falls
  3. Travels
  4. Song For Bilbao
  5. San Lorenzo