Cary Ann Hearst - Lions & Lambs LP


Part country and part rock ‘n’ roll, Cary Ann Hearst has a stunning and expressive voice that sets her apart. An honest songwriter whose one-line lyrical zingers reveal a spitfire personality behind powerhouse pipes, she’s tough and gritty on “Hell’s Bells” and “Forsaken Blues,” sizzling and sultry on “American Made Machine," and channels Loretta Lynn on “Who’s Gonna Raise These Babies?” Her mournful vocals on the ballad “Eastern Continental Divide” match the weepy pedal steel, and “Are You Ready to Die” sounds like honky-tonk crossed with ‘50s pop. On Lions And Lambs, her second full-length, she’s joined by her husband, Michael Trent, on drums, harmonica, piano, guitar, and vocals (they have also released an album together as Shovel & Rope). Hearst was also featured on a memorable duet with Hayes Carll, “Another Like You,” on his 2011 KMAG YOYO release. Fun and sassy, Lions And Lambs is a lively album that should raise the profile of this talented singer-songwriter.

Availability: In stock


Track Listing

Side One

  1. The Hardest Thing
  2. Hell's Bells
  3. Can't Say Goodbye
  4. Eastern Continental Divide
  5. Are You Ready To Die
  6. The Last Time

Side Two

  1. American Made Machine
  2. The Thread
  3. Forsaken Blues
  4. Who's Gonna Raise These Babies?