Swimmin' Time CD

2014 Dualtone

Swimmin’ Time is the highly-anticipated follow up to the band’s 2012 breakthrough debut O’ Be Joyful, which garnered unanimous praise from the press, followed by dozens of sold out shows, national television appearances, numerous year-end lists, impressive album sales and major festival performances. To cap it all off, Shovels & Rope took home two of the top honors, Song of the Year (“Birmingham”) and Emerging Artist of the Year at the 2013 Americana Music Awards.

Availability: In stock




While O’ Be Joyful was recorded at home, in hotel rooms, in their van and throughout their travels, the band remained stationary by recording Swimmin’ Time at their home studio in Charleston, SC with Trent again producing.  Swimmin’ Time features 13 new songs that maintain the elemental Shovels & Rope songwriting and sound while incorporating new ingredients to the mix.  From the heady harmonies of “Devil Is All Around” and the quirky “Mary Ann & One-Eyed Dan” to the epic beauty of “After The Storm” and the Waits-ian “Ohio”, fans are sure to be pleased and pleasantly surprised by some of the chosen new paths and dark turns.

Track Listing

  1. The Devil Is All Around
  2. Bridge On Fire
  3. Evil
  4. After The Storm
  5. Fish Assassin
  6. Coping Mechanism
  7. Pinned
  8. Swimmin' Time
  9. Strono River Blues
  10. Ohio
  11. Mary Ann & One Eyed Dan
  12. Save The World
  13. Thresher