[DOWNLOAD] Kudzu Records Presents

Download links will be be sent in a separate email, please check your spam folders.

NOTE: Your download comes as a ZIP file, which may not download directly to a smart phone or tablet. We recommend downloading to a laptop or desktop computer to access your files, which can then be added to your mobile devices.

Availability: In stock




“Kudzu Records Presents”  is a  digital and CD (pre-order) release of the very limited edition 45 rpm vinyl-only box set from 2003. The addition of 6 new songs brings it to a total of 12 tunes.

The 45 box set “Kudzu Records Presents” is the rarest of all Kudzu Records releases. Only 1000 units were pressed. It was an “all analog” project that was recorded to a 16 track 2” tape machine and mixed down to a ½” master tape by Rick and Mark Williams at the Kudzu Ranch.

“I edited the songs together and took the ½” master tapes to Nashville, where I had mastering engineer Randy Kling cut the lacquers on his Neumann lathe. Then I took the lacquers straight to United Pressing and had them plated. It was really fun and I got an up-close education on making vinyl records!”, Rick recalls. “And when I got back to the Kudzu Ranch I digitized the ½ masters right away for a future digital release. I am so glad we are finally getting to it. Even better now because the band is expanding the original project with four more covers and two original instrumentals.”

The original six songs included on “Kudzu Records Presents” were heavy on NOLA recording artists and songs: Jesse Hill (“Whip It On Me), Ernie K. Doe (“Certain Girl”) and Smiley Lewis “(“Lost Weekend “and “One Night of Sin”). The other two cuts had Mary Huff hitting The Pretty Things catalog with her take on “Buzz the Jerk” and “Midnight to Six”.

On the new album, we have added four more of our favorite songs by our favorite artists. Here is a bit more info about the additional cover tunes

“Devil with The Blue Dress On” is based on the version by Shorty Long. “Shorty wrote the song and his version is the best” says Rick. “lots of people have covered this song but very few do it as greasy and groovy as Shorty”.

Doug Sahm has been an inspiration to the band since day one and his version of “Is Anybody Going to San Antone” is one of our favorites. Check out Mary doing her best to channel Augie Meyers with her Farfisa playing on this cut.

“Just Like You Treat Me” is a Howling Wolf song that Mary fattens up with some flatulent Moog grooves while Rick lays down a chugged out Diddling Daddy rhythm guitar. And, Dave’s driving beat puts in the forward momentum turn the Willie Dixon penned tune into a SCOTS swamp stomper.

The last song is a Slim Whitman gospel number from the late 50’s. “I am a Slim Whitman fan” Rick adds, “His lonesome yodel gets stuck in my craw. I can’t yodel like Slim so we got Mary to add a high sci-fi vocal and then we topped it off with some strange whistling gospel organ. I sang the lyrics thorough a bullet mic and that gave the song a revival tent, cinder block am radio vibe. Yeah!”

The two instrumentals on included on the album are original compositions in a southern groove. “The instros fit in with the vibe of the record” Rick says. “The Bank Walker" is the soundtrack to walking along the Eno River sipping from a warm tall boy on a hot summer evening. “Tripping at the Admiral Benbow” name checks the Memphis hotel of the same name where the band used to stay (and party - HARD)! "Tripping" is a bastard Memphis groove with a psychedelic edge, Bon Voyage!

Track Listing

  1. Whip It On Me
  2. Certain Girl
  3. Buzz The Jerk
  4. Midnight To Six
  5. Lost Weekend
  6. One Night Of Sin
  7. Devil With The Blue Dress On
  8. The Bank Walker
  9. Is Anybody Going To San Antone
  10. Just Like I Treat You
  11. Trippin At The Admiral Benbow
  12. Jesus Took My Burden