Welcome Home Bon Voyage CD

Release Date: April 19, 2019 Eleven Records

Produced by Eli Wolf (Robert Glasper, Elvis Costello + The Roots) Welcome Home, Bon Voyage captures the Hot Sardines in two landmark rooms from their career: a hometown set at the renowned Joe’s Pub in New York City, the first venue to really give the Sardines a home, and the acoustically-magnificent Koerner Hall in Toronto at the Royal

Highlights on Welcome Home, Bon Voyage include a modern twist on the syncopated, soaring “Everybody Loves My Baby” (written by Spencer Williams and Jack Palmer, and first recorded by Louis Armstrong in 1924) to an irresistibly dissonant take on Duke Ellington and Juan Tizol’s “Caravan” (a collaboration with Bill Elliott, the Tony-winning arranger who set the Sardines’ songs to music for a symphony show with the Boston Pops), as well as the hushed, playful “Exactly Like You” and an interpretation of “Some of These Days,” that turns Sophie Tucker’s 1910 trademark into a boisterous beguine. To honor New Orleans’ 300th anniversary, the band finishes with a second line through Koerner Hall, turning the entire 1200-strong crowd into a second-line Mardi Gras parade.

BONUS:  all orders receive links to download two tracks from the album immediately after checkout.  Your confirmation email will contain download links for Caravan and After You've Gone NOTE: Your download comes as a ZIP file, which may not download directly to a smart phone or tablet. We recommend downloading to a laptop or desktop computer to access your files, which can then be added to your mobile devices.

Availability: In stock


Track Listing

  1. Everybody Loves My Baby
  2. Some of These Days
  3. Crazy Rythym
  4. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  5. Keepin' Out of Mischief Now
  6. I Ain't Gonna Give Nobody None of My Jellyroll
  7. Exactly Like You
  8. Lulu's Back in Town
  9. After You've Gone
  10. Caravan
  11. Bill Baily Won't You Please Come Home
  12. Bill Baily Won't You Please Come Home (Reprise)